Baystate Health print this page

Awards & Recognition

Leapfrog – Grade “A” Hospital

In 2012, Baystate Franklin Medical Center earned an “A” for inpatient safety from The Leapfrog Group, an independent national not-for-profit organization focused on health care quality. This is the highest grade in Leapfrog’s new Hospital Safety ScoreSM initiative, and it is based on 26 nationally established measures of hospital safety


Awards for Stroke Care

In spring 2012, for the second year in a row, the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association presented Baystate Franklin Medical Center with its Get With The Guidelines®- Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award. This award recognizes BFMC’s adherence score of 85% or higher on all GWTG-Stroke Quality Achievement indicators for two or more consecutive 12-month intervals; and 75% or higher compliance with 6 out of 10 GWTG -Stroke Quality Measures.


For the third year in a row, the Stroke Collaborative Reaching for Excellence (SCORE) awarded Baystate Franklin its Defect-free Care Award. SCORE is a partnership involving 56 Massachusetts hospitals, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, and the American Heart Association.


National Recognition of The Birthplace

An abstract, “Listening to Newborns” was awarded the Outstanding Innovative Program Paper out of 267 submissions at the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetrics and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) 2011 conference.


The Birthplace also received an award for Women’s Health Unit of the Year 2011, First Runner-Up – presented by Cerner Corporation, BFMC’s vendor for its electronic medical record system.


Patient Satisfaction Awards

In 2011, Professional Research Consultants (PRC) recognized Baystate Franklin Medical Center for its excellent patient satisfaction scores, with 5-star awards to Inpatient Obstetrics and Gynecology (The Birthplace) and the Oncology Department; and a 4-star award to Outpatient Services.


Accreditations - 2011

Baystate Franklin Medical Center earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™ for accreditation by demonstrating compliance with The Joint Commission’s national standards for health care quality and safety in hospitals. The accreditation award recognizes the hospital’s dedication to continuous compliance with The Joint Commission’s state-of-the-art standards in such areas as infection prevention and control, leadership, and medication management.

BFMC’s Radiology Department was awarded a three-year term of Accreditation in Computed Tomography (CT) as the result of a recent review by the American College of Radiology (ACR). The ACR gold seal of accreditation represents the highest level of image quality and patient safety.


BFMC’s Oncology Department received a three-year Accreditation with Commendation from the American College of Surgeons (ACOS). ACOS is specific to cancer programs, and sets very strict criteria.