print this page

Baystate Franklin Auxiliary Awards Scholarships

June 01, 2011

L to R, Standing:  Cindy Opalenik, Lauren Kuzdeba,Sarah Pendriss, Katelyn Jablonski, Gregory Shelkey, Melinda Rose, Jacob Carmody, Sara Smith, Juan Rivera, and Dawn Walsh.  Seated:  Keeley Herbert, and Keith James




The Baystate Franklin Auxiliary at Baystate Franklin Medical Center has awarded $10,000 in scholarships to 19 students who are pursuing health care-related degrees.  Two of these scholarships were awarded to Greenfield Community College students in the registered nurse and licensed practical nurse programs.


The Annie S. Barclay Scholarships are awarded annually in the form of tuition grants to students seeking education in health care from an accredited program of study.  Applicants may be BFMC employees, children of BFMC employees, BFMC volunteers, or children or grandchildren of BFA members.  Emergency medical technicians (EMTs) and Greenfield Community College nursing students are also eligible to apply.


Scholarships are funded from invested income, designated gifts, fundraising projects, and BFA member donations.  Selected students were awarded their scholarship checks during a reception held at Baystate Franklin Medical Center on Thursday, May 26.


The following students received Annie S. Barclay Scholarships:  Jacob Carmody, Shelburne Falls, Albany College of Pharmacy (pharmacy); Ryan Forrest, Greenfield, Albany College of Pharmacy (pharmacy); Keeley Herbert, Shelburne Falls, Anna Maria College (nursing); Katelyn Jablonski, Leverett, Liberty University (nursing); Keith James, Deerfield, Springfield Technical Community College (clinical laboratory technologist); Lauren Kuzdeba, South Deerfield, University of Connecticut (biomedical engineering); Rebecca Letourneau, Northampton, Springfield Technical Community College (radiology technologist); Courtney Opalenik, Greenfield, Columbia University (pre-med); Sarah Pendriss, Greenfield, Greenfield Community College (nursing); Juan Rivera, Springfield, Greenfield Community College (paramedic); Melinda Rose, West Whately, University of Phoenix (health care management); Gregory Shelkey, Conway, Hobart College (pre-med); Alyssa Shepherd, Leyden, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth (physician assistant) Sara Smith, Turners Falls, Simmons College (physical therapy); Leslie Sunderland, Greenfield, University of New Hampshire (occupational therapy); Dawn Walsh, South Deerfield, American International College (nursing); Mikayla Wyman, Shelburne Falls, University of Massachusetts, Boston (pre-med).


For more information about Baystate Franklin Auxiliary’s Annie S. Barclay Scholarship program, 

contact Human Resources at Baystate Franklin Medical Center, 413-773-2295.  Application forms for 2012 will be available in December.